Dinner

Shanghai Heping

We stumbled upon Shanghai Heping while walking aimlessly in Chinatown after visiting Central Perk, wooo FRIENDS! Well actually the boyfriend and I both drank a lot of water and needed a baño ASAP so we were looking for a Starbucks. Of course it was no where to be found. It was time to chow down anyway so we just went in the first place we thought we would both like. Never again!

First the “hot and sour soup” was neither hot or sour it was just a bowl of oil and blah.

SH1

Don’t you just want to jump in the screen and eat this!? Well, don’t!

I didn’t order this dish, but I tried it and it wasn’t horrible but it wasn’t anything special either. My boyfriend liked it, eh he’s not Asian what does he know (I love you).

 SH6

SH5

I looked at the menu and wasn’t in the mood for anything at all but the beef stew with rice noodles was like pick me, so I did. Ugh, it was out of character as I never go out and order beef stew with rice noodles or beef anything (ok occasionally). I was so disappointed! I mean it looked good and the first bite of the beef was full of flavor, but the broth was boring. It was a drab finishing the meal. I grew up eating these where the broth is rich and bursting with flavors…mmm now I want a bowl of good ol’ homemade beef stew.

SH4

I was in the mood for a taro bubble tea. Ugh, another disappointment. I was drinking sugar and tapioca pearls. I took a few sips and no more bubble tea for me.

SH7

The place was spacious for a Chinatown restaurant and the service – I swear all the waitstaff were sleep walking.

Sorry Shanghai Heping overall grade, fail. I looked up the restaurant to link it to my blog and to my surprise there are some great reviews out there about Shanghai Heping. As I’m writing this I’m thinking maybe the other dishes are good or maybe the chef had a bad day. Sorry first impressions are everything right? You’re better off with your shit local Chinese food places.

Where did U go last night?

Shanghai Heping

104 Mott St

New York, New York 10013

212 – 925 – 1118

Between Canal & Hester St in Chinatown/Little Italy

Standard

Leave a Reply

